The MarginAnalysis

How Much Does a Personal Chef Cost?

A personal chef for a dinner party costs $80 to $100 a person on Thumbtack and $150 to $210 a person through Take a Chef. Weekly meal prep from one Boston-area chef runs $170 to $320 a cook session plus groceries, against chef-made meal delivery from $12.59 a meal.

Dark cover plate. An orange Analysis chip, the figure $80–100 set large, and the line reading a person for a dinner cooked at home. At right, two measured bars under the heading published price, per person: Thumbtack $100 drawn short, Take a Chef $210 drawn full.

A personal chef costs $80 to $100 a person for a cooked dinner at home, Thumbtack's national range, and $150 to $210 a person through Take a Chef, groceries included. For weekly meal prep, one Boston-area chef charges $170 to $320 a cook session plus groceries. Chef-made meals delivered by CookUnity start at $12.59 a meal.

Which of the three you are buying matters more than the chef: a dinner party, a week of meals cooked in your kitchen, or meals cooked elsewhere and shipped.

How much does a personal chef cost per person?

For a cooked dinner at home, $80 to $100 a person is Thumbtack's national average fixed price, with a lowest price of $40 and a highest of $180. Take a Chef's US prices run higher, $150 to $210 a person, because they include "menu planning, groceries, cooking, service, and cleanup." Take a Chef's price per person falls as the table grows.

SourceGuestsPublished price per personGroceries
Thumbtack, national averageNot stated$80 to $100 (lowest $40, highest $180)Not stated
Take a Chef, US1 to 2$210 (range $180 to $250)Included
Take a Chef, US3 to 4$175 (range $150 to $220)Included
Take a Chef, US5 to 6$165 (range $150 to $200)Included
Take a Chef, US7 to 10$154 (range $135 to $179)Included
Take a Chef, US11 or more$150 (range $129 to $170)Included
Pixie Dust Gourmet, dinner party2 to 5$70 to $90Included ("with all of the ingredients")
Pixie Dust Gourmet, dinner party11 to 20$50 to $70Included

Read on 19 October 2026 from each source's own page, in US dollars. Thumbtack's figures are the headline on its personal chef cost page; the article below them is dated 26 August 2020. Take a Chef's table is from its guide updated 24 September 2026. Pixie Dust Gourmet is one chef's Thumbtack listing, not a market average.

Take a Chef's own example is a dinner for eight: about $1,232 at $154 a person, which it sets against "$1,200 to $1,600" for a restaurant private dining room before drinks and tip.

How much does a personal chef cost per week for meal prep?

$170 to $320 a cook session, plus groceries, at the one weekly price list we could read in full. Pixie Dust Gourmet, a personal chef service in Waltham, Massachusetts, charges $170 for 2 meals a week and $320 for 5 meals, each with "2-6 servings," and says "Groceries range from $1- $11 per serving."

Weekly cook sessionServings of each mealService price
2 meals a week2 to 6$170 + groceries
3 meals a week2 to 6$220 + groceries
4 meals a week2 to 6$270 + groceries
5 meals a week2 to 6$320 + groceries

Pixie Dust Gourmet's Thumbtack listing, read 19 October 2026. The listing also has every-other-week sessions at $250 to $350 for 3 to 5 meals of 4 to 8 servings. The price list is not dated.

The arithmetic per serving depends on how big the batches are. Four meals of four servings each is 16 servings, so the $270 session works out to about $16.88 a serving before groceries, or about $18 to $28 with groceries at the chef's $1 to $11 a serving. Those are our sums from the chef's published prices.

The fee buys the planning and shopping as well as the cooking. The chef describes "menu planning and shopping to meal prep, cooking and clean-up," with dishes packed in "reusable glass or plastic containers."

Is a personal chef cheaper than meal delivery?

No, on the published prices, unless the household is large or the diet is strict. CookUnity's chef-made meals start at $12.59 a meal on plans of "4 to 16 meals per week," and Trifecta's plans cost $104.93 to $119 a week. A personal chef's service fee alone is about $16.88 a serving in the example above, before groceries.

OptionPublished priceWhat you get
CookUnityEach meal "starting from $12.59"4 to 16 chef-made meals a week, delivered
Trifecta, chef-selected plans$104.93 to $110.99 a weekDiet plans such as Clean, Keto and Paleo, delivered
Trifecta, Meal Prep and Signature Meals$119 a weekChoose your own items or meals
Pixie Dust Gourmet$170 to $320 a session + groceriesA chef cooks in your kitchen, to your menu

Read on 19 October 2026. CookUnity's homepage also advertised 50% off the first week; we used the full price. Trifecta's plans page gives weekly prices without saying how many meals each includes, so no price per meal is given for it. Delivery fees were not shown on either page we read.

What the chef's extra money buys is control: your kitchen, your menu, your portions and no subscription box. For a family that needs a specific diet cooked fresh, that is the product. For one person who wants dinner handled, delivery is cheaper.

How much should you charge as a personal chef?

Start near the published middle: $80 to $100 a person for a dinner, and $170 to $320 a weekly session plus groceries for meal prep. Those are Thumbtack's most common range and one working chef's price list. Charge groceries separately at cost, as Pixie Dust Gourmet does, so a premium menu never comes out of your fee.

For comparison, the Bureau of Labor Statistics puts the median pay of employed private household cooks at $23.05 an hour, or $47,940 a year (May 2025), with a mean of $25.81 an hour. A self-employed chef's session fee has to cover what an employer would otherwise pay for: the hours spent planning and shopping, travel between homes, insurance and the weeks without a booking.

Before you set your own number, the method in how to price a service with no track record applies here too. A chef who also teaches can sell the same skill to a group; what that sells for is in how much a cooking class costs.

The honest hard part

Most personal chefs do not publish prices. The weekly figures here come from one chef's listing in the Boston area, which is a real reference point, not a national average. Thumbtack's per-person range is national, but its page does not say whether groceries are inside it, and the article under it dates from 2020.

The second hard part is groceries. Take a Chef includes them; Pixie Dust Gourmet bills them separately at $1 to $11 a serving. Two quotes that look $50 apart can be the same price once groceries are added, so ask which kind you are looking at.

The third is scale. A chef cooking in clients' homes can fit only so many sessions into a week, and every one depends on the chef being there. That ceiling is why many chefs add classes, dinners for groups, or a product that does not need them in the kitchen.